Flash Fiction 500

The TSS International Flash Fiction Competitions, 2017


Every quarter we will be publishing the best three winning Flash Fiction entries on our Short Fiction page. This is an international competition.

Next Deadline: 30th November 2017 (winter, 2017)

Wordcount: 500

Entry Fee: £5 

Results: Shortlist announced early December. Winners mid-December.

Prizes: 1st £75, 2nd £50, 3rd £25 

All three winners will be published online.

The shortlist is decided by the TSS panel. The three winners are chosen by our Flash Fiction judges, Meg Pokrass and Rupert Dastur. You can learn more about Meg here.

Enter HERE



TSS Flash Fiction Competition (autumn, 2017)

Flash Fiction Winners 

1st Place: ‘Mayday’ by Helen Kampfner

2nd Place: ‘Parabolas’ by Christopher Stanley

3rd Place: ‘Burnt Toast’ by Julia Hartnett


The Flash Fiction Shortlist (autumn, 2017)

‘Sex: form Audi to Zephyr’ by Kerry Rawlinson

‘The Man with his Head in his Hands’ by Wiebo Grobler

‘Orange Blossom Summer’ by Wiebo Grobler

‘The Birthday Party’ by Zannah Kearns

‘Pull Me In’ by Melissa Fu

‘Digital Detox’ by Sally Lane

‘Bag of Tricks’ by Yi Ling Huang

‘The Flying Snail’ by Victoria Williams

‘Intimacy as Currency’ by Adam Lock

‘A Lifetime’ by Diane Simmons

‘Eurasion Makes Okonomiyaki’ by Laura Lee

‘Funeral’ by Giselle Leeb

‘Bubbles’ by Aileen O’Farrell

‘Stub’ by Ian Critchley

‘Burnt Toast’ by Julia Hartnett

‘Mayday’ by Helen Kampfner

‘The Woman Who Loved Trees’ by Susan Lowell

‘Catching the Spark’ by Catherine Finch

‘Angel’ by Anita Goodfellow

‘Beneath’ by Steven Holding

‘Parabolas’ by Christopher Stanley


The winning Flash Fictions will be announced within the next seven days.

Thank you to all those who entered.


Previous Winners of the TSS Flash Fiction Competitions

‘Dancing Queen’ by Helen Kampfner

‘If We Could Knock Through’ by Sharon Telfer

‘Silent Sex’ by Christina Dalcher

‘Cut Through’ by Marilyn Messenger

‘Other People’s Ghosts’ by Catherine Cruse

‘The Frogs’ by Claire MacRae

‘Square of Light’ by Catherine Finch

‘The Caesarean’ by Sophie Van Llewyn

‘Loved by Ramos’ by D. R. D. Bruton

‘Each Family Meal an Opera’ by Kim French

‘The Best He Could Do’ by Brindley Hallam Dennis

‘At the Still Point, There the Dance Is’ by Barbara Renel

‘Crossing’ by Linda Grierson-Irish

‘Unknown’ by Yasmin Keyani
‘Endangered’ by Christopher Stanley

‘Of Bugs and Men’ by Jacqueline Haskell 

‘Snow’ by Jason Jackson  

‘Spines’ by Paula Hunter

‘Seven Stages’ by Jasmin Kirkbride 

‘On Warren Ward’ by Fiona J. Mackintosh 

‘Lambs’ by Alison Wassell 

‘The Things You Said’ by Annelise Altman

‘Blood-ties’ by Marie Gethins


Previous Shortlisted writers for the TSS Flash Fiction Competitions

Tamara Miles

Christopher Stanley

Catherine Finch

Sean Baker

Sophie Van Llewyn

D R D Bruton

Conor Houghton

Paul McDonald

Neil Greybanks

John Holland

Kim French

Geraldine Terry

Alison Wasell

Neil Greybanks

John Holland

Peter Newall

Helen de Baorca

Linda Grierson-Irish

P. W. Jackson

Pia Ghosh-Roy

Sandra Arnold

Michael Thompson

Christopher Stanley

P. J. Stephenson

Sally Lane

Yasmin Keyani

Chris Heywood

Sarah Hitchcock

Chris Hitchcock

Jeanette Sheppard

Jan Kaneen

Sally Lane

Lee Hamblin

Alison Bacon

Jason Jackson

Ceri Lowe-Petraske

Fiona Kyle

Catherine McNamara

Linda Hartley

Alyson Rhodes

Weibo Grobler

Jan Kaneen

Tracy Fells

Colin Watts

Sarah Muldowney