Writers’ Awards

The Short Story: supporting writers with potential.

TSS is now accepting applications for its International Writers’ Awards.

Entry is free.

There will be twelve successful candidates, one chosen each month of 2016.

Next deadline: 30th June 2016


TSS Award Winners will receive the following:

  • £50 for their short story with editorial advice and illustration.
  • Publication on our website and inclusion in any future print or digital anthology / chapbook publication.
  • The opportunity to read their work to an audience in London.
  • 6 free short story tick-sheet critiques.
  • Publicity via our website and social media for all future short fiction.


Terms and Conditions:

  • Applicants should send a short story between 3,000 – 7,000 words & a separate document outlining their online and print publication history to award@theshortstory.co.uk
  • Short stories must be in English.
  • Applicants must be between the ages of 21 and 35 (proof may be required).
  • Applicants may reapply is unsuccessful.

There are no further requirements.

The next deadline is 30th June 2016.

Current award-winners: